As of January 2014, medical marijuana has been legalized in 20 states and the District of Columbia. The states that have boarded this contributed to this decision thus far include:
- New Hampshire
- New Jersey
- New Mexico
- Rhode Island
Though the use of medical marijuana has been legalized in these states, there are still rules and regulations regarding the issue. Here are the most important laws you should keep in mind:
1) In Colorado AND Washington State, marijuana is legal for both medicinal and non-medicinal uses. Both states allow adults over the age of 21 to possess up to 1 oz without a medical marijuana card.
2) In the remainder of the states, there is a limit on how much medical marijuana you can legally possess- varying by state of course.
- Alaska, Montana, Nevada: 1 oz
- Arizona, Illinois, Maine, Michigan: 2.5 oz
- California: 8 oz
- Colorado, DC, New Jersey, Vermont : 2 oz
- Connecticut: 1 month supply (to be determined by doctor)
- Delaware, New Mexico: 6 oz
- Hawaii: 3 oz
- Massachusetts: 60 day supply for personal medical use
- New Hampshire: 2 oz during 10-day period
- Oregon, Washington: 24 oz
3) There is also a limit to how much a legal “grower” can possess. This person must be registered in the state in which they reside and must reapply every 365 days for said registration. (also varies by state)
- Alaska, Colorado, Maine: 6 plants (3 mature, 3 immature)
- Arizona: 0-12 plants
- California: 6 mature or 12 immature plants
- Hawaii, Nevada: 7 plants (3 mature, 4 immature)
- Michigan, Rhode Island: 12 plants
- Montana: 4 plants (mature) 12 seedlings
- New Mexico: 16 plants (4 mature, 12 immature)
- Oregon: 24 plants (6 mature, 18 immature)
- Vermont: 9 plants (2 mature, 7 immature)
- Washington: 15 plants
4) Cultivation is not allowed in Connecticut, Delaware, Illinois, New Hampshire, New Jersey, or the District of Columbia and a special license is required in New Mexico. In Arizona, cultivation is only allowed if the patient lives outside of the 25 mile radius from any dispensary.
5) Maryland does not condone the legal use of marijuana. However, the maximum penalty for possession of marijuana that can be proven to be medically necessary is a fine no more than 100 dollars.
6) In Utah, cannabis oil to treat epilepsy will be dispensed as a trial starting July 2014. These patients will need documentation from a neurologist stating their medical documentation.
7) In 18/20 of the states above (with the exception of Washington and Colorado) you are required to carry at all times a medical marijuana “card” or ID that states you are legally allowed to possess marijuana for medicinal use. You will be required to reapply for your card every 365 days
8) Dispensaries are for non-profit. They can legally accept money as a gift, but each state limits the amount of money they are allowed to “collect” from patients.
9) If you are on legal probation or in the custody of a parole officer, it is up to the discretion of the correctional facility to decide whether or not you can use marijuana for medicinal purposes. Most medical marijuana doctors and clinics will not approve, however.
10) The most important law is federal. The possession of marijuana is still illegal in regards to federal no matter what amount it is. Use caution if you have a medical marijuana card and are considering travel. You will be subject to penalty under federal jurisdiction. The following states recognize out-of-state medical marijuana cards:
- Rhode Island
Keep in mind that there are 13 states that are currently pending legislation to legalize medical marijuana. They are:
- New York
- South Carolina
- West Virginia